has been added.

Cote News

Pacific Four Series and O’Reilly Cup confirmed for Black Ferns

Pacific Four Series and O’Reilly Cup  confirmed for Black Ferns

All BlacksMarch 3, 2023

- Two O’Reilly Cup matches
- 6 PAC4 matches to be played in Australia, Spain and Canada
- NZR indicates in hosting new World Rugby Tournament, WXV1

The Black Ferns 2023 test schedule is taking shape, New Zealand Rugby (NZR) and Rugby Australia (RA) announcing the O’Reilly Cup test series will kick off in Australia in June.

World Rugby has also confirmed the Pacific Four Series for 2023, involves New Zealand, Australia, Canada and the United States.

The Black Ferns will launch into their 2023 test season in June, with Australia hosting the Black Ferns in the first of two O’Reilly Cup matches, which doubles as a Pacific Four Series test. With the second O’Reilly Cup match set to take place in New Zealand in September.

The Pacific Four Series will see the Black Ferns travel to Canada for the final two rounds of the series which will see the Black Ferns play Canada in round three. All four teams will compete over two weekends in early July, for the right to be crowned 2023 champions.  Dates, venues and kick-off times for the will be announced in due course.

The World Rugby Pacific Four Series 2023 schedule optimises and complements the existing women’s domestic and international competition calendars for 2023. The cross-regional, international competition also acts as one of the principle annual qualification routes for the top two tiers of WXV with the top three placed teams qualifying for WXV 1 and the fourth-placed team securing a place in WXV 2. The host locations for WXV will be announced next month.

A few Queens of the South returned to their home towns yesterday, and it was an absolute treat. 🖤🏆 pic.twitter.com/J4DEvpXvbz

— Black Ferns (@BlackFerns) February 22, 2023

Black Ferns Director of Rugby Allan Bunting said the Black Ferns are looking forward to returning to test match rugby: “We are delighted to have an exciting test schedule ahead of us. To consistently be involved in fixtures both in New Zealand and abroad enables us to be able to build depth and challenge us as a team, while allowing our fans to continue on this journey with us.” 

New Zealand Rugby is having positive conversations with World Rugby to host the inaugural WXV 1 Tournament later in the year.

Bunting said it would be a fantastic opportunity to be able to host the six best women’s teams in the world in New Zealand.

“It would be great for New Zealand as a country to continue to generate the excitement they showed for women’s rugby during the Rugby World Cup, as we would like to see Aotearoa - New Zealand backing the Black Ferns when WXV kicks-off”


World Rugby Chief Executive Alan Gilpin said: “After a hugely successful and ground-breaking Rugby World Cup 2021 (played in 2022) in New Zealand, 2023 will be another exciting year for women’s rugby with WXV set to make its debut in October. With qualification for WXV on the line, there is more at stake for competing teams in this year’s Pacific Four Series and we look forward to watching all the drama unfold across each round of the competition.” 

World Rugby Head of Women’s Competitions Alison Hughes said: “The Pacific Four Series continues to provide more consistent, annual international playing opportunities for Australia, USA, Canada and New Zealand.  

“We have worked closely and collaboratively with competing nations and host unions to optimise the existing women’s international and domestic calendar for this year’s Pacific Four Series. With a significant number of USA and Canada players based in Europe, playing round one of the Pacific Four Series 2023 in April takes advantage of the extended break these players would have faced while the domestic competitions in England and France pause for the Women’s Six Nations. We are delighted to be bringing the Pacific Four Series to new territories, including Spain in Madrid and hosting the final two rounds in Canada,” said Hughes. 

If you can see it, you can be it.

Thank you Winton Primary for hosting us this morning 🏆🖤 #LikeABlackFern pic.twitter.com/MaKTiKe0XD

— Black Ferns (@BlackFerns) February 21, 2023

The Pacific Four Series, partnered with Mastercard, enters its third year with Black Ferns the reigning champions having won the 2022 title on home soil. For more information, visit www.world.rugby/tournaments/pacific-four-series 

Pacific Four Series 2023 match schedule: 
Round 1 
Madrid, Spain  
Canada v USA – April, Spain
Estadio Nacional de la Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Round 2  
Australia v New Zealand – June, Australia

Round 3 
Canada v New Zealand – July, Canada
USA v Australia – July, Canada

Round 4 
Canada v USA – July, Canada
USA v New Zealand - July, Canada

O’Reilly Cup:
Australia vs. Black Ferns – Thursday 29 June, Brisbane, Australia
Black Ferns vs. Australia – Saturday 30 September, TBC, New Zealand

Kick-off times for Pacific Four Series and O’Reilly Cup to be confirmed at a later date.

Read Source

Check out our Girls Rip Tournament