has been added.

Cote News

Black Ferns Sevens dominate end-of-season awards

Black Ferns Sevens dominate end-of-season awards

All BlacksMay 16, 2023

New Zealand's Black Ferns Sevens dominated World Rugby's end-of-season awards that were presented at a function in Toulouse after completing their HSBC World Series.

Captain Sarah Hirini, Tyla Nathan-Wong, Stacey Waaka and Michaela Blyde were selected for the HSBC Dream team.

World Rugby vice-chairman John Jeffrey said New Zealand's sixth Series title out of seven had not gone unnoticed.

"I would like to praise New Zealand for their well-deserved title and the unique brand of rugby showcased this season.

"Rugby sevens is a unique and thrilling sport and with their skills and exceptional tries, players are capturing the hearts of fans around the world. All eyes are now on the revamped Sevens Series kicking off later this year, and the Paris 2024 Olympics next summer."

She's one in a milion 😱

Jorja Miller is your #HSBC7s Rookie of the Year#HSBC7sAwards | @nz_sevens pic.twitter.com/jNCcy2G8KO

— World Rugby 7s (@WorldRugby7s) May 14, 2023

New Zealand's Jorja Miller was named the rookie of the year.

The award is for players who debuted during the season, and Miller, 19, stamped her mark on the competition by scoring 18 tries in the Black Ferns' campaign.

Fellow Black Fern Sevens player Risi Pouri-Lane won the Hotstepper Award. It is presented as a celebration of game-changing moments during the season, including the most exceptional one-on-one steps and transformational moments of magic on the pitch.

Pouri-Lane showed her footwork to significant effect during the series and posted 15 tries.

The men's awards will be made next weekend after their final tournament of the year in London.

We present to you, the class of 2023 🤯

Congratulations to the #HSBCDreamTeam@HSBC_Sport | #HSBC7s | #HSBC7sAwards pic.twitter.com/7cEW3THCcs

— World Rugby 7s (@WorldRugby7s) May 14, 2023

Read Source

Check out our Girls Rip Tournament